Great Rollright Primary School is a Church of England Voluntary Aided School, which means that it was founded by, and is still owned by, the Church of England. The School was actually founded in 1852 and the Diocese of Oxford has ultimate responsibility for its running. This responsibility is discharged through a Board of Governors (the “Governing Body”) which also employs the staff, including the Head. The Governing Body delegates the day-to-day running of the school to the Head. There is also a large input from the Local Authority, which provides the funding for the School and also monitors the standards of achievement of the School’s pupils.

The Governors’ role is to formulate the strategic plans for the school, and to support our Head in running the School. Each Governor is a well-informed “critical friend” who offers support to the School and to the Head, but who is not afraid to ask awkward questions or to offer constructive criticism where necessary. In such a small school, Governors also have a further role to play in carrying out many of the practical tasks which might be done by staff in larger schools.

Governors come from all walks of life and the make-up of the Governing Body reflects the aims and aspirations of the local community; it also “preserves and develops the school’s religious character in accordance with the principles of the Church of England.”

By its nature, the Governing Body contains expertise in various disciplines and has contacts in the local area who can offer the school practical help when needed.

The Current Governing Body

Mrs Helen Gormley Chairperson, Foundation Governor
Mrs Helen Hare Vice Chairperson, LEA Governor
Miss Michelle Hastings Headteacher
Mrs Rebecca Buckland Staff Governor
Vacancy Foundation Governor
Ms Allison Dawe Foundation Governor
Mr John Lougher Foundation Governor
Mr Adam Buxton Foundation Governor

  Mr Paul Drake                    Parent Governor

  Mr Alan Howard                 Parent Governor

  Mrs Kitty Barclay               Foundation Governor